AtWhatMileage
Electrical · 11 owner reports

Wiring harness or short circuit on the 2004 Honda Accord

1 injury 1 of the 11 reports for this failure mention a crash, a fire, an injury or a death. Those are the owner's words on the complaint form, not a verified finding, and one report can mention more than one.

Reports of this failure 11
With an odometer reading 9
Reports per 1,000 built 0.1 per 1,000
Filed below 36,000 miles 0%
Mention a crash, fire or injury 1
Typical repair $400–$3,500
What it means when it happens High
Rank among this year's problems 27th

When wiring harness or short circuit gets reported

Owners of the 2004 Honda Accord report wiring harness or short circuit at a median of 90,000 miles. A quarter of the reports come in before 50,000 miles and a quarter after 95,000 miles, from 9 reports that carried an odometer reading.

A part like this is normally expected to survive 88,000 miles. It is the 27th most-reported problem on this model year.

The mileage distribution

The reported range runs from 40,000 miles at the tenth percentile to 100,000 miles at the ninetieth, a spread of 61,492 miles across the middle 80% of reports.

A spread this wide points at use rather than design. Towing, climate, service history and city mileage all move a failure like this, so the median is a weak guide to any individual car.

0% of the dated reports were filed under 36,000 miles.

The whole distribution

Percentiles of the 9 odometer readings owners gave.
10th25thMedian 75th90th
38,620 miles 50,000 miles 90,000 miles 97,000 miles 100,112 miles

Read the 10th percentile as “one report in ten arrived this early”. Exact figures are shown in this table because it is the table of record; everywhere else on the site they are rounded to the precision the sample can carry.

What a percentile can and cannot tell you here

These five numbers describe the readings owners gave, in order. The median is the middle one: half the reports arrived below it. The 10th and 90th are the edges of the bulk of the distribution, and the distance between them is the part worth reading. A tight spread — say 70,000 to 95,000 miles — points at something that wears out on a schedule, and the schedule is knowable. A wide one, 20,000 to 190,000, points at a fault that hits some cars and never troubles others, which means the mileage on the listing in front of you tells you very little about your odds.

What these figures are not is a survival curve. Every reading here comes from a car whose owner filed a complaint, so the sample contains only failures: it cannot say what share of the fleet made it past 150,000 miles untouched, because those owners had nothing to report. Nor is the mileage the moment of failure — it is the odometer reading as recalled at the time of filing, which may be weeks later and is sometimes rounded to the nearest ten thousand by the person typing it.

Percentiles are shown at all only once 8 readings exist for the vehicle and mode. Below that the middle of a handful of numbers is noise wearing a decimal point, so the figures are withheld rather than dressed up.

What happens, and what it costs

Of these reports, 1 an injury is mentioned. Owners write their own complaints and the agency does not verify them, so read this as what the reports say happened rather than as a confirmed count.

Putting it right typically runs $400–$3,500 at an independent US shop. That range is an editorial estimate held in this site's failure-mode catalogue, not a figure from NHTSA, and it is a repair cost rather than a diagnosis cost.

The same failure on other years

The same failure is reported on 14 model years of this car. It shows up earliest on the 2014, at a median of 5,000 miles, and latest on the 2007 at 125,000 miles.

By volume the 2005 carries the most reports, with 12; the 2004 has 11. A mode that appears across most years of a model is usually a design choice rather than a bad batch.

If one year stands out to the left, that is the year to avoid; if the whole line sits at a similar mileage, this is wear rather than a defect in one production run.

Median
  1. 1997 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 98k
  2. 1998 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 192k
  3. 2000 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 138k
  4. 2001 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 105k
  5. 2002 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit
    no odometer readings given
    —
  6. 2003 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 87k
  7. 2004 (this one) 90k
  8. 2005 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 81k
  9. 2006 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 70k
  10. 2007 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 126k
  11. 2009 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 16k
  12. 2010 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 80k
  13. 2012 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 47k
  14. 2013 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 8k
  15. 2014 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 3k
  16. 2015 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 29k
  17. 2016 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 45k
  18. 2017 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 29k
  19. 2018 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 45k
  20. 2019 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit
    no odometer readings given
    —
  21. 2020 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit
    no odometer readings given
    —
  22. 2022 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit 100k
  23. 2023 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit
    no odometer readings given
    —
  24. 2026 Honda Accord wiring harness or short circuit
    no odometer readings given
    —

Tick median reported mileage Solid middle half of reports Faint 10th to 90th percentile Colour how bad the failure is when it happens

What owners wrote

Verbatim from NHTSA complaint narratives, trimmed for length. The mileage is the one the owner gave.

On may 14, 2008, I brought my 2004 honda accord ex to my local honda dealer because the SRS (airbag) indicator came on and remained on during operation. The dealer charged me $263 for replacing the wiring harness under the driver's seat. I believe that the repair should have been completed at no charge because there is an outstanding NHTSA recall (07v001000) that specifically refers to the SRS indicator and problems with the wiring harness for 2004 honda accord models. My service rep at the dealership said that the VIN on my car did not fall in the VIN range for the recall, but the documentation for NHTSA recall 07v001000 does not specify a range of vins for 2004 models, only for 2005 models. I am asking that the NHTSA clarify and/or expand the VIN range for 2004 honda accords to include my vehicle and that the dealer reimburse me for the charges I have already paid. *tr

100,112 miles NHTSA complaint 669794 filed 2008-05-14

On may 14, 2008, I brought my 2004 honda accord ex to my local honda dealer because the SRS (airbag) indicator came on and remained on during operation. The dealer charged me $263 for replacing the wiring harness under the driver's seat. I believe that the repair should have been completed at no charge because there is an outstanding NHTSA recall (07v001000) that specifically refers to the SRS indicator and problems with the wiring harness for 2004 honda accord models. My service rep at the dealership said that the VIN on my car did not fall in the VIN range for the recall, but the documentation for NHTSA recall 07v001000 does not specify a range of vins for 2004 models, only for 2005 models. I am asking that the NHTSA clarify and/or expand the VIN range for 2004 honda accords to include my vehicle and that the dealer reimburse me for the charges I have already paid. *tr

100,112 miles NHTSA complaint 669795 filed 2008-05-14

Air bags: frontal:sensor/control module indicator light came on suddenly on july 22, 2008. Subsequent examination by honda dealer service department revealed that the wiring harness for the sps which was attached to the seat frame was broken. Dealer denied any responsibility, as had honda america, despite the fact that a recall announcement for this very problem was issued 1/2/2007 (NHTSA campaign number: 07v001000). They claim that my car's VIN # was not part of the recall which makes me responsible for fixing the problem. *tr

38,620 miles NHTSA complaint 682179 filed 2008-08-08

Also reported on the 2004 Honda Accord

Other powertrain problem

199 reports median 105k

Complete transmission failure

111 reports median 99k

Other electrical problem

104 reports median 85k

Seat belt or retractor failure

45 reports median 60k

Other steering problem

38 reports median 140k

How far this goes

Complaints are voluntary, so 11 is a floor and not a count of affected cars. Mileages are typed in by owners and cluster on round numbers. And the mode itself is assigned by software reading the complaint text, which is reliable in bulk and fallible one report at a time.

Questions this page answers

At what mileage does wiring harness or short circuit happen on the 2004 Honda Accord?

Across 9 owner reports that included an odometer reading, half were filed by 90,000 miles. A quarter were filed before 50,000 miles and a quarter after 95,000 miles. These are the mileages owners reported when they complained, not a prediction for any individual car.

How common is wiring harness or short circuit on the 2004 Honda Accord?

11 reports have been filed with NHTSA, about 0.1 per 1,000 vehicles. Complaints are voluntary, so this is a floor rather than a count of affected cars.

What this is and is not. These are the mileages at which owners chose to complain to a federal agency, which is not the same as the mileage at which the part fails on every car. It skews toward failures that happened outside warranty, cost real money, or frightened someone. It is still the only public dataset that carries failure mileage at all, and the shape of a few hundred readings is informative even when a single one is not. Methodology · JSON · this failure on other cars

Source Owner complaints and recall records published by the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, model years 1996–2027 Figures rebuilt Published by AtWhatMileage How every figure is computed